Customer Service 866.965.0400

Cleaning wheels with ceramic brakes

FasPilot

Question

Hello. Newbie here and owner of new car with some different equipment than what I'm used to. Need some help cleaning my wheels. I have ceramic composite rotors and pads. There's a lot of internet chatter about watching what you use to clean wheels on cars with these brakes. For instance, here's one guy talking about my model car:

"NOTE: If you have Ceramic Brakes be carefull what products you use to clean wheels. I would not use/nor should you have to use anyting stronger than car wash soap. Check with your dealer. I have PCCB and was told my multiple people in the know NOT to use any wheel cleaners unless the wheels are removed from the car to be cleaned."

There's no caution like this in the owner's manual. My guess is it's a wives' tale. But I need to check it out. Does anyone know anything about this? More to the point here, what Adams product would be best to use on wheels with these brakes?

6 answers to this question

You shouldn't need any type of wheel cleaner with ceramic brakes. (I've read that the rotors can absorb certain materials)

You'll get very minimal dust from even tracking the car. This is one of the benefits to this brake setup as is the high heat tolerance (resistance to fade) and noise reduction.

Soap and water should do the trick.

Just use soap and water when cleaning ceramic rotors. I did a ZR1 last year that was improperly cleaned with some harsh wheel cleaner by the prior detailer after taking purchase. Over time the rotors improved some what. When it was my turned I stayed away from anything but Adam's Car Shampoo mixed with some water and a spray bottle. Then used a boars hair wheel brush and wheel woolies to gently remove and grime on the wheels and calipers.

DSC_0435.jpg

Edited by JBlack151